My husband and I had a great morning making Indian starters. We learnt a lot and will definitely be back to learn more about curries. We look forward to our next lesson. Our host Jaya was so lovely, friendly and informative.Thank you for a great morning
Emma Jane Aird, 15 September 2018
What a great evening we had yesterday at the Breech Lane Curry class. We were treated to an array of the most delicious spices, beautiful colours and amazing tastes and smells. Jaya makes her own spices and guided us beautifully through ways to use them, and we created a delicious combination of foods in a relaxed atmosphere, with a great group of people. Thank you Jaya for a wonderful evening and all the hints and tips I’ve come away with.
Jacqui Voss, 14 September 2018
Had a fantastic morning making totally yummy food this morning, thank you Jaya, would totally recommend
Claire Smart, 08 September 2018
I recently attended Jaya’s cooking class with my mother and sister for my birthday. We all had a great time and went home with a lot of knowledge on authentic Indian cooking. Jaya was a wonderful and energetic host and who made us feel vert comfortable in her home. I would highly recommended her class to anyone interested in learning more about Indian cuisine or just a fun day out with family and friends. Last but not least, the dishes were delicious!!!
Mary Dodman, 16 August 2018
Such a lovely experience with a very knowledgable lady. I learnt a lot and ate some very tasty food!
Rachel Corbould, 08 August 2018
Attended the course on 4th August. A great morning. Jaya made the experience enjoyable and has given me the confidence to ignore the jars of ready made sauces and cook from scratch – much more authentic and tasty.
Andy Laird, 08 August 2018
Attended a group session this weekend, cooking tikka paneer, dahi chicken curry and paratha. Jaya makes you feel very comfortable amongst all the new ingredients and kitchenware, and all of us were very successful in creating these dishes to a great standard. Lots of helpful advice about alternative ingredients and twists on the recipes, different dips to make. Her method of leading the group – giving us instruction and tips, but not doing anything for us – was excellent.
Alex Hudson, 05 August 2018
I received this cookery class with Jaya as a Xmas present and I was very apprehensive about attending. However I found it absolutely excellent, Jaya was a wonderful teacher and I came away excited to put my new skills to work. I would completely recommend it an I will be returning as soon as I can.
Colin Sinclair, 31 July 2018
Great night, last night! Learning not just to cook an authentic Indian dish or two but also a lot more about what ingredients to use, why to use them and how to use them. All in a relaxed, enjoyable environment. Only problem now is…… what course to book next. Can’t wait to enjoy more Indian meals in the very near future. Thank you Jaya for being a great host and teacher.
Andy Ross, 28 July 2018
Had a great cooking class with Jaya last Saturday, preparing and then cooking some of the most amazing BBQ kebabs I’ve ever tasted! Thoroughly enjoyed it and will almost certainly be booking in another class. Highly recommend!
Mike Green, 25 July 2018
Such a great class yesterday, learnt some great recipes that we hope to be able to create at home soon. Really enjoyed the morning, relaxed and friendly and the food was amazing. Highly recommend a class to anyone, we will definitely be back for a curry class.
Sophie Maynard, 25 July 2018
What a great morning prepping kebabs to have for lunch and enough left for an afternoon snack!
Was great to be able to make Chicken tikka without the dairy, so tasty and great to know. Thanks for finding alternatives for me and sharing your knowledge in such a relaxed environment. We’ll be back for a different lesson for sure!
Alex Maynard, 25 July 2018
A very happy Thursday morning spent with my husband,daughter and son in law learning about Indian family recipes and cooking methods at Jaya Malani’s home. This lovely lady taught us a lot and we left with 2 delicious dishes and flat breads for our evening meal. I would recommend her classes to everyone interested in cooking.
Sheila Prentice, 20 July 2018

This morning I spent the most enjoyable 3 hours with Jaya learning to make some delicious, authentic, home cooked Indian food (which I’ve just enjoyed for my dinner!). Jaya was informative, helpful and friendly, leading the small group at a good pace. I’m a confident cook, but learned a lot from Jaya, but I know that the class also is great for absolute beginners as my dad had previously attended. Jaya was generous with her time and teaching. I’ll definitely be returning for further courses with her as soon as I can!

Anna Curtis, 14 July 2018
I’d bought cookery lesson vouchers for my parents as a gift and we had a class for four, for them, myself and husband. Jaya is so warm, welcoming and friendly and a great teacher. I love food and cooking and was looking for a taste of authentic Indian home cooking and Jaya certainly delivers that! With the judicious use of a small range of herbs and spices some really exceptional flavours were acheived, the paneer tikka with coriander chutney was sublime!
Amanda Wheatie, 13 July 2018

My husband and son went on a course with Jaya. They both thoroughly enjoyed it. In particular my (25 year old) son went as a favour to me as I was unwell but was fascinated by all he learnt about spices and cooking techniques. And he loved the food he cooked. He has asked that the three of us go again when I am better!

Emma Cottrell, 12 July 2018
Brought as a birthday present by friends , we spent a great evening learning how to cook Lamb Biryani.
Sharon Lambert, 09 July 2018
A very enjoyable,informative morning. Learned a great deal and highly recommend everyone interested in cooking to take Jaya’s class..
As a bonus, the food was delicious. What more does one want.
Margaret Oldfield, 05 July 2018
Fantastic teacher , great food – easy to follow lesson and very patient what more can you ask for. Great lesson at the Breech Lane Curry House – Jaya was extremely accommodating, adapting the menu to what we wanted to learn. The outcomes were fantastic and she was very knowledgable and patient. Hopefully we can replicate!
Zoe Hunnisett, 01 July 2018
What a great class
Jaya is very knowledgeable in the art of Indian cooking
Learnt so much in 3 hour’s and the bbq food was incredible
Paul Cooke, 24 June 2018
Such a relaxed and enjoyable way to learn how to create wonderful curry dishes.
Jaya is a great host, with such passion for sharing her knowledge of spices and healthy dishes. A true Spice-Lady!
Tracy Townsend, 03 June 2018
My husband and I had the best morning with Jaya, cooking healthy, authentic Indian cuisine. Highly recommended!
Joanne Doyle, 16 May 2018
A very enjoyable session. Even with my limited cooking experience I found the course easy to follow with expert guidance from Jaya and produced a good result. We made sheek kebabs, a chicken curry and a pratha. All were very tasty. I’d highly recommend this course to anyone interested in real Indian cooking.
Nigel Corby, 13 May 2018
Jaya is knowledgeable and passionate about her culture and Indian cooking. This comes through when she intuitively and skilfully mixes spices together to produce amazing flavours. The food we produced in 3 hours was delicious, and the whole process was inspiring. I have been shown the basics and feel I am able to reproduce these dishes, but need to return for more…and I can’t wait! This cookery school is amazing!
Helen Lumbard, 12 May 2018
I had a group cookery lesson with Jaya and absolutely loved it. She is incredibly passionate about the quality of the ingredients and shared wonderful stories of how recipes had been passed down to her through her grandmother and mother. My family were in complete shock that I managed to cook food that was so delicious. I’d highly recommend her classes.
Fay Wallis, 12 May 2018
Fantastic experience, very enjoyable and the best curry I have ever tasted let alone cooked myself! Jaya is a great teacher and creates a very relaxed environment in which to learn about Indian cooking.
Ben Raincock, 05 May 2018

Brilliant lesson! A good pace over the 3 hours 🙂 . Fantastic food and learnt a lot. Thank you ! Danny Pearce, 03 May 2018

I would highly recommend treating yourself to a Indian Cookery class with Jaya at Breech Lane curry House. A warm welcome awaits! I went with my Son, and we were soon identifying herbs and spices from an amazing array of colours and fragrances and learning about their properties. The session was set at a good pace, enabling everyone to cook, learn and take on new ideas within a warm, friendly environment. We made a starter, a main dish and a paratha (bread) and the cosy room soon filled with amazing cooking smells! At the end of the master class we said our farewells and headed for the supermarket to stock up on spices! Thank you for your inspiration Jaya … we loved it! xx

Karen Pearce, 03 May 2018
I had a lovely time, thanks Jaya. It was very informative and so helpful to have someone explaining things at each stages, rather than ‘guessing’ if it’s right when following recipes! My family were suitably impressed with the results and I’m already looking forward to replicating the recipes at home.
Martin Ingle, 30 April 2018
I recently attended a private cooking session with my mum as a birthday treat. I can’t recommend Jaya enough, she is incredibly knowledgable and a very good teacher! The food we cooked was amazing, and all our family enjoyed trying the food once we got home! We will definitely be recreating the dishes at home soon and hope to attend some more of the classes Jaya runs! The classes are extremely well thought out and run in a relaxed “at home” setting. Thank you so much Jaya xx
Lois Brown, 30 April 2018
My daughter and I had a great time. I couldn’t believe she was able to identify so many of the herbs and spices by smell alone. She put me to shame! But we both really enjoyed the three hours learning from Jaya how to make such delicious food – which we all enjoyed as a family that evening. All of it tasted fantastic – even made by our own hands! – but the Paneer Tikka was a big favourite, and so easy to make….when you know how! Thanks again Jaya for showing us how, in a friendly and easy going way.
Cameron Murray, 02 April 2018
What a fabulous time on Saturday ! I learnt so much and am already trying out some of the recipes at home.
Andrea Trezise, 17 April 2018
Great evening at The Breech Lane Curry House with Jaya. Learnt sooo much and the food was amazing! Couldn’t recommend it highly enough!
Thankyou for a great experience!
Sally Goddard, 09 April 2018
Had a really great time learning about how to cook some great curries. I am vegan and we discussed potential dishes ahead of time. We cooked an aubergine curry and a chickpea curry, both tasted great and I will be trying to recreate them at home
Ellie Crome, 04 April 2018
Had a lovely time cooking curry with friends on Friday evening, jaya is a great teacher & she’s made me realise spice isn’t scary at all
Gill Mills, 02 April 2018
Went on a Friday evening for a cooking lesson with 3 friends. I now feel like I’m a bit of an expert who could open his own Indian restaurant! More realistically my home Indian cooking will be a lot tastier. Jaya was an excellent teacher who I would definitely use again and recommend to friends to try
Paul Prothero, 31 March 2018
A lovely mix of fun and education. I would recommend it as an experience to be given to the person impossible to buy for….man woman or child or just as a personal gift to yourself .
Kay Campbell, 12 March 2018
We had such a fun evening cooking with Jaya! We learnt so much and cooked some lovely recipes. It was the perfect setting to cook in a relaxed environment whilst still learning so much. Highly recommend booking to experience with friends or family!
Kate Ashley, 09 March 2018
Brilliant experience and Jaya is a great teacher. Her calm and relaxed approach give you the confidence to just go for it.
Grant Ashley, 09 March 2018
This is such a fun thing to do and Jaya is an amazing demonstrator who inspires the desire to learn more about wonderful home made ‘proper’ Indian food.
Sam Rider, 09 March 2018
Speaking on behalf of us both, THANK YOU so much again for your time, culinary expertise and thoroughly enjoyable class last night. We felt very spoilt to have you all to ourselves and are genuinely looking forward to recreating the curry very soon….pics to follow when we do!
Nicola Upward, 02 March 2018
We had such a brilliant morning with you Jaya. We learnt so much and you made it really good fun. Brian deemed the curry he made to be the best curry he’d ever had! Thank you so much Jaya X
Ann Palmer, 24 February 2018
Wow…what an experience! We had a wonderful evening last night learning so much about Indian cuisine, the spices, how best to prepare and cook the ingredients, the best ingredients to use and the different flavours each brings. The paneer tikkas, the dahi chicken curry, and the parathas were absolutely delicious and all dishes I would now have no problem making at home thanks to Jaya. The 3-hour class went so quickly! It was relaxed and fun and you really did feel like you were at a friend’s house learning the secrets of quality, authentic Indian cooking. Excellent in every way – great value for money and highly recommended.
Diana King, 24 February 2018
Jan & I had a really good lesson with Jaya who made the session very enjoyable as well as informative. Jaya gave us a good appreciation of the effects of the different spices and has given us a much better appreciation of the subtlety of good Indian cuisine. What a great combined birthday present from our children!!!.
David Preedy, 11 February 2018
Very well spent morning hopefully my curries will now be more authentic.
Peter Denyer, 08 February 2018
Dosa is a dish that I never had before, and really enjoyed the learning about this dish making it from scratch, along with filling and the delicious spices. Feeling inspired so I will certainly give this a go at home. The time went so quickly and Jaya ensured that we did not feel rushed, demonstrated and explained the whole process, giving us plenty of time to try out her handy tips when it was our turn to have a go. The family also enjoyed eating the results. I will return as I really want to learn how to make an authentic Biryani.
Nina Allen, 31 January 2018
Phil and I spent a really fun evening creating a lovely paneer kebab and superb Chicken curry and paratha. Learnt so much about spices and have since recreated the paratha twice at home . Great fun and very informative.Certainly inspires you to ditch those jars.
Carole Reeves, 28 January 2018
In a few short hours, the lovely Jaya takes you through the spices you’re going to be using to learn to cook the most amazing indian dishes I’ve ever tasted. You get to actually do the cooking rather than just watching but Jaya is there every step of the way, explaining what to do and helping you out. Jaya is delightful, so encouraging and she really simplifies it all. We’ll definitely be back for another lesson, that’s for sure. I can’t recommend her highly enough. If you want to learn how to cook authentic indian food, look no further.
Mandi Ronald, 24 January 2018
Wow! Jaya showed us how to make the most amazing chicken curry on Friday night. Absolutely delicious. A really enjoyable, informative and inspiring evening. Thanks Jaya Sam Stopford, 22 January 2018
A great morning, with friendly and informative learning. I am now able to make a healthy authentic curry, using spices and techniques that really deliver on flavour, Thanks again
Paul Evans, 03 February 2018
Great fun! We were expertly guided in producing some superb authentic Indian dishes. Our teacher was delightful, and so knowledgeable and experienced. Highly recommended!
David Hebden, 20 January 2018
I can’t recommend Jaya’s Indian cooking class enough. Her warm welcome, the setup and the delicious menu were excellent. It was also great getting to know other local people and to discuss all kinds of cooking methods, recipes and food experiences. It was a great experience. I highly recommend it!
Kim Ridley, 18 January 2018
What a great cookery course! Set in a relaxed environment of Jaya’s home the course was well run & great fun! Jaya fitted a lot in to our 3 hours with her & we came away with 3 delicious dishes & a bread! I would recommend this course to anyone.
Lou O’brien, 14 January 2018
My wife and I have always looked forward to a nice curry night, usually Fridays. So…..we decided to learn to cook one ourselves the authentic way. Jaya at Breech Lane was the choice and we are so glad that we arranged to spend a few hours learning from her and extensive knowledge of Indian cuisine. She made us so welcome and were quickly at ease in her house cooking three courses to take home and eat and recreate.
We would recommend you try it yourselves, you won’t be disappointed.
Colin Blundell, 10 January 2018
Had a fantastic Friday evening learning to cook Jaya’s Indian family meals with my brother for his birthday. Not only did we cook the most delicious curry and parathas but we had a great deal of fun hanging out with Jaya in her own house, such a lovely relaxed way to learn with the opportunity to ask as many questions as you like (which I did). Highlight of the evening was relaxing on Jaya’s sofa drinking homemade chai masala tea waiting for our chicken curry to marinate. I will be back there is plenty more to learn!
Robert Cowan, 11 December 2017
Bought as a birthday present by my brother for the two of us and had a cracking nite
learning to cook everyday Indian food in everyday surroundings
Great intro by Jaya to the basics of using Indian spices that seem scary but really aren’t once you understand them.
My brother is a chef, and I am not and we all agreed that my curry dish was best !!
Will be going back at some point in the near future for more inspiration
 Andy Cowan, 11 December 2017
Had a really enjoyable evening on Friday learning how to cook some lovely food. Would highly recommend these courses. We are looking forward to doing our next one very soon.
Julie Ayres, 19 November 2017
Great cooking lesson today with jaya excellent teacher . Really looking forward to putting all I learnt into practise . Jaya is so easy to get on with and knowledgeable, great fun . We cooked tikka paneer, chicken Curry and paratha bread . Highly recommend to any one interested in learning to cook Indian .
Kim Farlow, 10 Nov 2017
Had a great time today learning to cook Paneer Tikka & Coriander Chutney followed by Dali Chicken Curry and Paratha. A fabulous birthday present. Thanks Mum!
Sally Bayliss, 10 Nov 2017
My wife and I bought a private lesson with Jaya as a present for a good friend who loves cooking. We all had a great time, Jaya has a great style, friendly and professional, she makes everyone feel welcome and the day is clearly well planned and prepared for. We cooked a fabulous Biryani which we took home along with some paneer tikka kebabs and a lovely coriander chutney for a meal that evening.
Jaya has a great understanding of flavours and her knowledge of Indian cookery is excellent, we loved hearing about tips from her mother and her mother in law which adds so much to the enjoyment and the authenticity of the day. Our friend had a great day and so did we, as a gift it’s quite a special experience that works in terms of spending time together and at a later time when you get to eat together.
Martin O’Shaughnessy, 02 Nov 2017
After getting fed up of the ‘one pot does all’ local takeaways I booked myself on to a one to one cookery session with the lovely Jaya. Wow, what can I say ! Jaya has taught me how to make the most delicious, fresh currys which taste incredible. I learnt so much in our session and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. I shall now be replicating these recipes at home much to my families delight ! I cannot recommend The breech lane curry house enough if you want to learn how to make proper authentic dishes with an absolutely lovely, knowledgable teacher. Thank you so much Jaya. I will be back to learn even more !
Kerry Ranford, 03 Nov 2017
Highly recommend! Friendly, knowledgeable and skilled teaching, combined with fresh, organic, local ingredients, resulting in authentic India food and new skills to take home! Thank you
Wendy Thomas, 15 Oct 2017
I attended the biriyani course with Jaya at Breech Lane curry house. It was a fantastic class. I learnt how to marinate the meat with all the different spices (some of which Jaya blends and roasts herself) and then layer up the rice with all the different flavours such as saffron and the slow cooked crispy onions. It was a fun class and the biriyani is something I have already cooked since for friends. A great dinner party dish! It is so great to be able to create a authentic biriyani!
Laura Benton,  01 October 2017
Great afternoon spent cooking real Indian food highly recommend
Carl Eastwood, 30 Sep 2017
What a brilliant time we had yesterday making delicious dosas and accompaniments! It was really good fun and so interesting!! I would definitely sign up for another course with Jaya! She welcomed us into her home and gave us an amazing authentic Indian experience!! Thank you Jaya!
Penny Hampson, 29 Oct 2017
I had a great time, thank you Jaya, Dosa’s are one of my favourite Indian dishes and am so pleased that i have learnt how to make them and will be confident to try them on my own.  We enjoyed the Dosa’s in the evening, i heated them up in a dry frying pan and they were delicious with all the accompaniments!
Sue, 29 Oct 2017
Great fun learning about different spices and cooking techniques and as always producing delicious food. Looking forward to cooking the dishes at home. Many thanks Jaya for a very enjoyable lesson.
Liz Young, 29 Oct 2017
Thank you for a fascinating and most enjoyable cooking session.  My family loved the food, and I will definitely be back to learn more.
Amanda Sander, 29 Oct 2017
Jaya welcomed us warmly into her home. Her organisation was amazing. Four stoves and all ingredients/equipment were set up ready to go. I was so impressed that Jaya had prepared everything in anticipation for the class, and had ground all of the spices fresh that day, sourced meat from a local butchers, and organic ingredients where able.
Her cooking talent, passion and enthusiasm for authentic Indian cooking was contagious. We made a delicious paneer tikka, chicken curry and accompanying paratha. Jaya supplied detailed recipes for us to take home with us, and I look forward to cooking them again this weekend. Thank you Jaya!
Laura Sawyer, 25 Sep 2017
If you want to know how to cook authentic Indian cuisine, then this is the place to go. Jaya is a fabulous host/teacher, all ingredients are provided and are locally sourced , even the spices are home prepared. Take a group of 4 , as we did. We had a really good time, and learned lots!
Pauline Saker, 25 Sep 2017
Jaya provided a comfortable neatly laid out cooking environment, an excellent stage for her to share her passion for Indian food. We used mainly freshly ground whole spices (and 3 spices I had not heard of from any book). We proceeded to cook the most delicious lamb kebab followed by Saag Paneer. A thoroughly enjoyable afternoon and Jaya perfected my onion cutting technique! Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in Indian Cooking and perhaps the perfect gift for the “foodies” in your life. I will be back for more.
Stephen Paine, 21 Sep 2017
Jaya, thanks for a wonderful cookery class on Saturday. I really enjoyed the day and your relaxed but thorough style of teaching worked really well. I was surprised at how much spice we used but the food tasted wonderful and much more authentic than I have managed to do on my own. I’m making the paneer recipe for some friends next weekend and I think they’ll be delighted with the taste and I’ll serve it Street style with some rolled up roti like you taught us!
I can’t wait to come back for another class. Thanks again.
Vanessa Lees, 11 Sep 2017
What a great day, finally found the taste I was looking for, Will be returning to learn more about the great flavours we experienced from our session. Lovely and relaxed time while learning more about the wonderful dishes we prepared on the day. A special thanks to Jaya who is a great teacher and lovely host. Would give 6 stars if available.
Paul Dodd, 11 Sep 2017
Really liked the okra, the onions had great sweetness and spices really came out, good texture – I’d cook again. On the main, again loved it, wasn’t too spicy (for wife) good balance of flavours , could really taste a difference compared to others I’ve made , chicken was nice and it was good to use chicken thighs as they retained the moisture- again definitely will cook again. It was a really good day and I enjoyed the session, great to learn proper techniques and new ideas for cooking!
Jamie Olver, 02 Sep 2017
Very relaxed learning Jayla is an excellent teacher, so many tips you wouldn’t find in a recipe book,food was delicious,will be back to learn more,Many thanks
June Ferritto, 02 Sep 2017
My friends and I did a three hour cookery class with Jaya recently. We had a fabulous evening learning how to make some Indian inspired BBQ recipes. I really look forward to trying them out at home. As well as the recipes, Jaya was a great source of information on the finer details relating to Indian cuisine, essential spices, how you can home freeze batches of fresh ginger, which spices to grind at home and where to find many of the best ingredients. This was really useful. I like that Jaya is very flexible with regard to the lessons/ recipes you cover in the classes. I hope that we will be able to do another session to learn how to make an authentic fish curry. Thanks Jaya!
Lisa Lim – 16 August, 2017
Thanks to Jaya’s cookery class I learnt new techniques and recipes to prepare a delicious marinade for paneer tikkas and chicken curry. I was very keen to improve my cooking skills and this class has helped me achieve that as well as pick up tips of how to prepare the ingrediants in advance. Even if you think you are a good cook, you can benefit from taking a class with Jaya as her methods are unique and result in very delicious homemade food. Plus the class was great fun too!
Maushami Kabra, 15 August 2017
Many thanks for a very unique and enjoyable evening. Was a great way to entertain , learning lots of new techniques in our own home and we all enjoyed eating the fruits of our labours.
Liz Young, 03 August, 2017
Thanks Jaya for demonstrating at our show last week at Olympia which is UK’s biggest exhibition for the over-50s, The 50+ Show! Demonstrating how to cook mouth-watering Indian dishes with great knowledge, skill and enthusiasm on the cookery theatre. It’s been a pleasure working with you and I am sure you will go a long way with Breech Lane Curry House. I give you 5 well-deserved stars! Good luck!
RL Villanueva, 19 July 2017
For me, an introduction to authentic Indian cookery perfectly organised. Jaya is enthusiastic about every aspect and the experience has inspired me to learn more.
I highly recommend Breech Lane Curry House.
Jeannette, 12 July 2017

I just attended Jaya’s cooking lesson and am writing a short review. To set the context I had made a fair amount of curry dishes based on internet recipes and from some biking, ‘waz’-ing and other TV chefs so was not a beginner and I still learnt a lot in the 3 hours and was amazed at some basic errors I was making.

The key points I learnt…….
1) The importance of slow cooking and the effect on the tenderness and taste of the meat. I realised I was racing through my own cooking.
2) Depth of taste does not come from adding more of the same spice but variety of spices. There were 3 spices I had never heard of and some I never used.
3) The process of cooking .. quality and freshness of ingredients ….marinating… allowing things to stand.. adjusting and timing spice quantities while cooking….and more.

In short I found the lesson very informative and an investment in enjoying my own better cooking. Highly recommended! Freddie Barros, 8 July 2017

Just completed my second course with Jaya and the Breech Lane curry house. It was a fantastic experience and I thoroughly enjoyed I learning how to make a lamb biryani and aubergine curry side dish. It was so much fun sealing the cooking pot with pastry and nervously waiting for the birth of my ‘Biryani baby’. We needn’t have worried it was perfect and absolutely delicious. Can’t wait to make it at home, which should be a sinch. Excellent way to spend an afternoon – highly recommended.
Bev Pass, 3 July 2017
I highly recommend Breech Lane Curry House. Jaya is so enthusiastic and a great teacher! I learnt a lot in my 3 hour Indian BBQ lesson. The food was amazing and I even purchased some vouchers as a gift for my dad to have a go! Thank you Jaya.
Natalie Webber, 1 July 2017 
Just had a fabulous afternoon with Jaya learning how to cook some delicious tikkas and kebabs on the BBQ. Great fun with 3 lovely ladies. I will definitely be back to try out some more recipes. Many thanks. Liz Young, 1 July 2017
I had a great evening learning how to make Indian street food with Jaya. It was really informative and I came away with lots of new recipes and techniques, including marinating paneer with various spice blends and hung yogurt and creating lamb kebabs. Jaya also managed to make it a fun and sociable night out where I could catch up with my friends. Recommend! Jane Wisbey, 24 June 2017
This was a fabulous cooking lesson and dinner. A chance to learn about how to use spices well and to taste new flavours. Thanks for a great event Jaya.
Heather Levine-Chesler, 24 June 2017
I had a great lesson with Jaya learning how to make an amazing masala dosa. The lesson was really well put together and was full of hints and tips that I’ll definitely be using in future. I would fully recommend a lesson with Jaya for people of all levels of cooking ability who want to learn more about Indian food. Thanks Jaya!
John Eccleston, 17 June 2017
What a great experience!
Jaya took me through the Indian vegetarian course over 3 hours preparing dishes of skewered marinated paneer, chickpeas cooked with a tea bag (yes!) in a deep, richly flavoured curry, coriander chutney, flat breads done 2 ways, pappads (as I think they were) and a cup of lovely Indian tea thrown in for good measure!
The chickpea curry was the best I have ever tasted. Her blend of spices made it special.
Jaya had fantastic advice on ingredient sourcing, storing, pre-prep and prep.
I have not been vegetarian for many years now but the dishes would not disappoint anyone. We (my wife and I) really enjoyed the the special “take away” that evening.
I have learnt so much more than you would ever get from a cook book and Jaya has been so kind and helpful. This is real Indian food.
Nick Clark, 16 June 2017
Thank you so much Jaya. We had a great time learning how to cook Indian food properly. This is really healthy, tasty cooking. All I’m left to say is ummmm delicious! We look forward to coming back and learning more.
Jenny MacDonald, 5 June 2017
I had a fantastic lesson with Jaya recently. Made the most delicious curry and tikka paneer, that was enjoyed by all for dinner that evening. A throughly enjoyable experience that has inspired me to do more and I have even bought a dapper!
Beverley Pass, 3 June, 2017

 

Amazing food today! Can’t wait to start cooking Indian food myself. Will definitely be having more cookery lessons….relaxed friendly atmosphere. Wendy Sadler, 5 June 2017

Had a great time learning the essence of proper cooking! Poor Jaya probably spent more time answering my inane questions about India and the various styles of cooking. The time flew by and we even did a couple of dishes that were unplanned! Nice to try proper tea as well (good old loose leaf). I have another session booked, where I promise not to ask soooo many questions! Trouble is that everyone is expecting me to remember everything and cook for them! Richard Cranfield, 27 May 2017

The three hours just rushed past. I learned masses and that’s what I was after. Identifying and naming the spices; appreciating their subtle use, and most importantly the little tips about what temperatures to use for this and that, when to add a little water, the importance of adding pinches of salt to draw out water, and so on. This was all brilliantly informative. At home with the foods I had cooked during the class, we sat round the table and each of the family tasted everything. The food was a universal hit and we all loved it. Now I need to cook some more – without supervision. Peter Harris, 19 May 2017

Most enjoyable three hours with Jaya…I can cook but have never cooked Indian food! Jaya is very knowledgeable, organised and has some delicious recipes which of course I can now cook properly. If you are a lover of cooking and Indian food, lessons with Jaya are to be recommended. Enjoy! Marilyn Ridgewell, 15 May 2017

Jaya recently taught me how to make dosas, something I’ve always wanted to try but haven’t had the knowledge or courage to do. She tailor designed the course to also include sambar and coconut chutney. I absolutely enjoyed this course and look forward to recreating it at home. Would highly recommend this business and definitely would try another! Tania McKechnie Sharma, 27 March 2017

Thank you Jaya for a fantastic evening, teaching us how to cook your DELICIOUS Indian food. I learnt so much, but you still managed to keep it fun at the same time. You have such a natural, sincere passion for cooking and I wish you all the luck in the world with your business. I’ll definitely be back for more 🙂 – Emma Gandey, 18 March, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed my group Indian Home Cookery lesson with Jaya at Breech Lane Curry House last night. So much thought and planning had gone into the class from contacting us before hand to find out about any allergies, preferences and experience to preparation of tools and ingredients for the session (including things like freshly roasted and ground cumin and grated ginger). Jaya was incredibly knowledgable and talked us through spices, recipes and techniques. She was also very patient and adaptable, accommodating our different tastes and answering our many questions! It was a lovely, relaxed session and the food we prepared was delicious and fresh! (The paneer tikka was a personal favourite). Jaya uses local butchers and suppliers where possible and you can really taste the quality of the ingredients. I can’t wait to practice at home and will be booking in for another session soon. Thank you, Jaya! – Sarah Lawson, 19 February 2017

I had such a great time attending Jaya’s Indian cookery school. As a keen home cook I was delighted to learn how to create authentic Indian dishes. I loved learning new technique’s such as marinating paneer and chicken in different spice blends, many which were roasted and ground by Jaya herself. I love the fact that Jaya supported local businesses uses locally sourced produce. I’m thrilled to have learnt how to cook some authentic Indian dishes that I can re create at home! I will definitely be booking another session to learn some more! – Laura Benton, 19 February 2017